top of page
  • Writer's picturemyabundantlife

3 Reasons Why Chickens Make Great Soil


First of all, I am vegan. We don't eat any animal products and neither do I ever plan on it again in my life.


Therefore, a big question I get is why I decided to add in chickens. 


And this is where I am going to talk up a great Permaculturist, Justin Rhodes. This man is a chicken guru and never even spends a dollar on chicken food (and he had quite a bit of beaks to feed). Moreover, this man makes soil from his chickens. So how does he do this???

Well here is his famous video, Permaculture Chickens, which is about all of using chickens for permaculture...CLICK RIGHT HERE TO WATCH!


And does it work...I am trying it right now.


My chicks are old enough now to eat about anything chickens can eat so I started giving them kitchen scraps and all the rest of our compost and they absolutely LOVE it. 


Justin Rhodes can obviously explain this better than I could, but I will give you the down and dirty...


Basically you give your chicks a pile of compost, they eat from and poop on the pile. Then you start a new pile while the other one starts to break down into soil with some healthy biota from the compost and chicken manure. About a few weeks you have great topsoil for your garden. 


So how does this work???


Here are the 3 amazing things chickens do to build soil:


#1: Like I said before they poop on everything and that adds lots of great nourishment to the soil and the many microbes living in it.


#2: They are natural tillers. Chickens love to scratch the soil looking for insects and worms. They help turn the soil or compost and aerate it all. Like I mentioned above, we give them our compost and never have to ever turn it because they do the work for us...daily.


#3: They eat the pests that wreck havoc in our gardens. They eat the pest infested plants we grow and helping us to manage garden pests much easier.


Simple right? 


Are you going to try it out???


If you already have tried this, or this is something you may consider then please share your thoughts! 


Lastly, don't forget to watch the video! Justin Rhodes can explain this all much better than I :)


Support our project and allow us to help others learn self-sufficiency by starting your journey to eating clean and lavishing your body with health. Purium products are produced by permaculture advocates who value healthy soils and peak ripeness in all of their products. Also, they have come out with compostable packaging. Join me on my daily regimen of starting my days with the Core 4 package. Purchase yours today and get a $50 discount on your first order...and become a part of the journey as I am starting to use our experience to help you embark on yours! Click here to order!!!!


Stay tuned for more!

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page