top of page
  • Writer's picturemyabundantlife

High Altitude Permaculture > 9000ft Elevation

Updated: Oct 20, 2020



It is possible to grow above 9000' elevation???


When I first told everyone I was moving to the mountains and grow my own food I was laughed at 100% of the time. The only person that stayed by my side in all of this is my hubby. We together have been determined to make this work!


This has been my dream...even if it is over 9000' elevation at our home. Even though I was laughed at, and frankly it does seem like crazy talk, we still pressed on.


Fortunately, everyone was wrong...


We have learned this high up that some things for sure do not grow without a greenhouse, but one of my favorites that does really well is goji berries. And they are super health too.

There are actually quite a bit more you can grow in the high altitude regions such as echinacea, yarrow, fruit trees (ie; plum, apples, apricots), wine grapes, and much more. 

Probably this greatest thing we have ever done was just try planting something and see if it survives...or we have found many others in our community that have been doing this much longer than us. We learn, try, and just do. 


In the next few days I will highlight certain plants that grow great in a high altitude, cold and semi-arid climate. 


Stay tuned...


Support our project and allow us to help others learn self-sufficiency by starting your journey to eating clean and lavishing your body with health. Purium products are produced by permaculture advocates who value healthy soils and peak ripeness in all of their products. Also, they have come out with compostable packaging. Join me on my daily regimen of starting my days with the Core 4 package. Purchase yours today and get a $50 discount on your first order...and become a part of the journey as I am starting to use our experience to help you embark on yours! Click here to order!!!!


****Disclaimer: This blog is not intended to provide diagnosis, treatment or medical advice. Products, services, information and other content provided on this blog, including information that may be provided on this blog directly or by linking to third-party websites are provided for informational purposes only. Please consult with a physician or other healthcare professional regarding any medical or health related diagnosis or treatment options.

6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page