top of page
  • Writer's picturemyabundantlife

The Lowdown on H2O & Homesteading



When living out west, water rights are a pretty big deal. In order to have a big operation there a few options such as water delivery, purchasing expensive land that includes the water rights, or learn how to use water that falls on your property to your benefit.


Have you heard that last part...use water that falls on your property to your benefit?


I have to be honest, when I first bought my property and then learned the sad reality of how my piece of heaven that I purchased didn't have the water rights for what I wanted to do with it, I was pretty devastated. Its like the government has destroyed any part of self-reliance that we all deserve.



But I decided to research and found that there truly is always hope whenever all seems lost. And then its when my plans became even more of a real thing. Basically never lose hope...there is always a way and it requires creativity and a will to challenge yourself.


After taking my Permaculture Design Course (PDC) in the spring of 2018, I learned the many ways that you can work with water and it then came my passion. Regardless of the the fact that I am in a semi-arid climate, there are many ways I can capture water and improve our soil health to absorb as much water as possible. Honestly, it really comes down to soil vitality that is the best tool for utilizing water that falls from the skies efficiently.


Also, here is a man, a regenerative farmer, who lives in a much colder climate with about the same soils as we do, and has a lot more land than I do. In fact, he has about 2000 acres and has successfully has healthy healthy soils that absorb much water and even maintains ideal soil temps that extends his growing season. This man is Gabe Brown and he has inspired me greatly. Check out a video of one of his many presentations right here: Gabe Brown: Keys To Building a Healthy Soil

In further, there are three main ways I am using my land to capture water naturally. Here they are in order:


1.) Soil health: As mentioned, soil vitality and fertility is my #1 concern. I am currently using chickens manure and other composts to improve the soils in my semi-arid and historically overly grazed land. Also, I intend to always use a cover crop and ensure our soils are always covered and protected from the sun.


2.) Water catchment system: Water is always coming from somewhere and catching it is not so hard. Even in the driest months we have morning dew coming off our roof. In our area, we only get around 10 inches of precipitation a year but that doesn't stop us from capturing approximately 6,479 gallons a year!!! Do you know how much irrigation water that is? Check out my numbers below 👇


Find out how much water you can save by installing a rain catchment system on your home! Click right here for the link to the website I use!


3.) Lastly, we implement swales. There is also a practice called keyline design that many permaculturists use but the tool necessary is expensive in my opinion. However we try to mimick the same process. On the other hand, I have learned how to use hand tools and move some earth and make swales. They are not really all that hard to make and really does move water to where I want it to go. Especially in June and July when we have our monsoon rains and water just floods. Why would I just let it flood? Basically, I move that water to a more purposeful location by making a perfect little path to it.




What ways can you think of to use the water that comes to your property? Are you like me and live in a desert? Or do you have an abundance but just want to use more of it?


I really wanted to share this information with you because when I realized we had pretty strict water laws in my state I felt defeated. It wasn't until I started researching natural methods of irrigation without going to my well changed it all for me. With some creativity and using the methods I mentioned above I now can use my operation to grow my food without worry.


Support our project and allow us to reach others with God's love by eating clean and lavishing your body with good health. Purium superfood products are made by organic farming advocates who value healthy soils and holistic nutrition. Try the foundational "Core 4" approach to nutrition for yourself today and see what the hype is about. Get a $50 discount on your first order of $75 or more by using the link below...and officially embark on your own journey! Click here to visit Purium!!!!


****Disclaimer: This blog is not intended to provide diagnosis, treatment or medical advice. Products, services, information and other content provided on this blog, including information that may be provided on this blog directly or by linking to third-party websites are provided for informational purposes only. Please consult with a physician or other healthcare professional regarding any medical or health related diagnosis or treatment options.

50 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page