top of page
  • Writer's picturemyabundantlife

My #1 Step Creating a Permaculture Homestead


Today I want to share the very first thing I did to begin our permaculture project. It was actually very soothing, easy, and affordable! There definitely is one positive thing to look forward to and that is flowers!


I love flowers!


I love bees!


I love how bees love flowers too!


Therefore, naturally I would plant flowers once we were able to start using our land...and that was the first thing I have accomplished. I planted a mix of wild flowers that an organization that I follow sent me, echinacea, sunflowers, and transplanted cilantro. And the best of it all is that every flower can be used for medicinal purposes or can be eating in time of famine. How about that for dual purpose?


For a few days, I spent time bringing natural rock from our property to outline our bed and filled it with native soil. All of the flowers I chose are cold tolerant and hardy to whatever soils they are sewed in. Thus the environment is 100% natural and ready for those bees...soon.

I am not lying folks when I saw we have at least 5 different species of wild bees that love to frequent our area and I can't wait until they are hanging out closer to my Zone 1. Living in the mountains, we have a lot of wild flowers that are just gorgeous so they do enough to attract our bee friends, but I am sure more flowers are completely okay to them.


I know we have heard many people talk about saving the bees as the honey bee populations have been in decline, but no one really talks about wild bees! One project I would like to accomplish is a bee hotel for them. They are gentle, cute, and I just love how they work so ardently for nature without missing a beat. 


Do you have native bees frequenting your location?


If you want to attract them, here is a great article that highlights a few flowers that you can plant that bees just love. Check that article out right here!


Support our project and allow us to help others learn self-sufficiency by starting your journey to eating clean and lavishing your body with health. Purium products are produced by permaculture advocates who value healthy soils and peak ripeness in all of their products. Also, they have come out with compostable packaging. Join me on my daily regimen of starting my days with the Core 4 package. Purchase yours today and get a $50 discount on your first order...and become a part of the journey as I am starting to use our experience to help you embark on yours! Click here to order!!!!


Stay tuned for more!



2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page