top of page
  • Writer's picturemyabundantlife

Permaculture Novice: Small steps at a time has been my motto!

When I first became awake to economic collapse and utter take-over of our nation by Communists, I decided self-reliance was something that was necessary. Not only is there the fact that we are in the midst of a huge power grab...history is definitely rhyming. 

Throughout history, nations have always been overthrown making the citizens either run to war or enter a period of starvation. And the crazy thing about that is for hundreds of years prior to the 20th Century, these citizens were mostly agrarian. Yes...really. These people caught amid a crisis already knew self-reliance and still had a hard time with the collapse of their nation. Therefore, how much more do we, Americans, need to be self-reliant?

Now this is where I started my journey...with the understanding that our nation will come to rough end and being tied to debt or relying on a supply chain for food was the last place I wanted to be. To leave those two habits behind is actually harder than one would think. What a process this is! I call it coming out of Babylon...


I learned good financial behavior and rarely bought anything unless I needed it. Then my hubby learned how to work with his hand and we both learned Permaculture! What a blessing it is to have such amazing knowledge of Permaculture.


Permaculture = Permanent Agriculture


After completing my Permaculture Design Certification (PDC), I began implementing strategies on how to develop our semi-arid landscape into an abundance for all. We watched the land after all of the seasons and made note of the patterns. Our goal is to work with nature and not against it. 


Then we started implementing projects such as planting trees to block the cold winter wind or create a solar bowl to ensure we have passive solar warmth. We found our contours and planted trees and shrubs along them to make sure our new vegetation is watered naturally. Then we started taking natural rock from the landscape and other rock left behind from the previous land owner to help water drainage in our sandy loam soil in our Zone 1 areas. The last step...so far...is beginning our herb garden next to an area that we cannot wait to just soak up the summer sun and just end our evening watching the sunset over the mountains.

To know that I am taking care of ourselves along with working with nature gives us that ultimate rest that we are becoming more self-reliant by the day and coming out of Babylon is for sure happening!


Support our project and allow us to help others learn self-sufficiency by starting your journey to eating clean and lavishing your body with health. Purium products are produced by permaculture advocates who value healthy soils and peak ripeness in all of their products. Also, they have come out with compostable packaging. Join me on my daily regimen of starting my days with the Core 4 package. Purchase yours today and get a $50 discount on your first order...and become a part of the journey as I am starting to use our experience to help you embark on yours! Click here to order!!!!

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page